We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Seeking Galanthophiles from Down Under!  (Read 2565 times)

Danielle G

Seeking Galanthophiles from Down Under!
« on: March 19, 2009, 07:20:11 AM »
Hello all,

I have been lurking around this site as a guest for some 2 years and decided to officially join a week ago.  :)

I am a 33 year old Galanthophile from Hobart, Tasmania. I have been growing snowies for some 8 or 9 years and started buying them off Barb Jennings (who is more well known for her beautiful hellebores). For the last couple of seasons I have been buying bulbs off Marcus Harvey - I am fortunate to live only 5 minutes from Marcus.

It was Marcus himself who suggested that I join this site as a way of making contacts - in Tasmania there seem to be few growing galanthus despite ideal growing conditions. I would love to make contact with other Galanthus fans - Australian and overseas.

I have a tiny inner city garden at the rear of an old co-joined house. The rear garden is dominated by a 100 year old bay tree - in fact we called our house 'Laurus'.

I grow a wide range of plants but my favourites include Japanese windflowers, Fritillaria meleagris and the Tassie native Nothofagus gunnii and of course Galanthus!

Most of my galanthus are in pots - especially the rarer varieties - but I have planted more readily available varieties in clumps throughout the garden.

My favourites include 'Lady Elphinstone' and Sam Arnott - I have recently acquired a Primrose Warburg from Marcus so I am really looking forward to that flowering - may or may not be quite up to flowering size this year!  ;D

I am looking at twin scaling at the end of this year (late December onwards) and would be more than happy to exchange varieties with any Australian Galanthus growers! In fact I would love to hear from other Aussie growers about their twin scaling and chipping efforts! :)