We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Pleione formosana collected from wild----How to grow them?  (Read 1618 times)

wertherZC

Pleione formosana collected from wild----How to grow them?
« on: June 09, 2012, 04:39:21 AM »
Hello, everyone!

I'm a newbie Pleione grower from Shanghai, China.  3 weeks ago I went to Mt. Daming in west Zhejiang Province and collected some small bulbs of Pln. formosana.

I've read an article in Chinese with indicates that Pleiones won't survive when collected during the growing season, because even the root is only slightly damaged , the whole root system will die and new bulbs for the next year won't be developed successfully. Collections of wild Pleiones can only take place when they are in dormancy.

When I collected them, I haven't read the article yet and Pleiones are obviously in the growing period (21th, May....flowers fading, large leaves coming out).  :'(

My question is: are there chances what they can survive? I collect some of them quite carefully, possibly without roots being damaged. Pictures shown below are the bulbils with still healthy leafs and even some buds of new leafs.

I use moss collected from their original inhabitant place to grow them. Because it's quite hot during summer in Shanghai (28 celsius degrees today and 30-35 mostly during July and August), I use a fan for air movement and water them several times a day because of large vaporization.  Do I have to improve my growing method?

Best wishes!

WertherZC

wertherZC

Re: Pleione formosana collected from wild----How to grow them?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2012, 05:12:40 AM »
Here are the pictures taken in the wild ;D
(1-4 taken in 21th May 2012, with fading flowers,  5-7 taken in 10th May 2009, flowers in good condition)
note that Pleione seedlings are almost everywhere in IMG_8389 ;D

Ian Y

• Bulb Despot
  • Administrator
  • Why grow one bulb when you can grow two:-))