We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Polygonatum sp.  (Read 1482 times)

WimB

• always digs deeper...
    • Vlaamse Rotsplanten Vereniging
Polygonatum sp.
« on: May 04, 2010, 05:32:33 PM »
Today I received this plant from a friend without a name. Since I'm far from an expert in Polygonatums I wondered if anyone here might know which species it is. It's a very fragrant species.
Wim Boens - Secretary VRV (Flemish Rock Garden Society) - Seed exchange manager Crocus Group
Wingene Belgium zone 8a

Flemish Rock Garden society (VRV): http://www.vrvforum.be/
Facebook page VRV: http://www.facebook.com/pages/VRV-Vlaamse-Rotsplanten-Vereniging/351755598192270

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Polygonatum sp.
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 07:55:41 PM »
Nice plant, Wim..... you need Aaron Floden for this ID, but , having read his Polygonatum thread, I'd hazard a guess at P. odoratum... he has various pictures there on pages two and four, I think.... 8)
« Last Edit: May 05, 2010, 12:05:44 PM by Maggi Young »
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

Afloden

• why not ask him..... he'll know !
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 11:47:57 AM »
 Looks like an odoratum - especially if its fragrant. There are others that are scented, but P. odoratum, hybridum, lasianthum, and amabile have a very similar scent - like baby powder.

It is unusual to have the flowers open before the stem is more mature. It looks like a very nice clone.

Aaron
Missouri, at the northeast edge of the Ozark Plateau

WimB

• always digs deeper...
    • Vlaamse Rotsplanten Vereniging
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2010, 12:10:24 PM »
Thanks for your replies Maggi and Aaron. It smells like baby-powder indeed.
I'll plant it out and see if it's as quick to flower next year.