We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Arisaema  (Read 5071 times)

Leena

• Leena's You Tube Videos
Arisaema
« on: January 22, 2019, 05:13:13 PM »
I have grown Arisaema ciliatum var liubanense from seeds about 10 years ago. It grows well and has also spread.
First and second picture are of it last summer. Behind it in the first picture is earlier flowering A.angustatum var peninsulae.

Then I have grown this third plant from seed ex seed as Arisaema consanguineum, and it flowered the first time last summer. It flowers a bit later than my A.ciliatum, but they grow in different beds.
However, to me they look very similar, but I am no expert in Arisaemas. Can anyone say is the plant in third, fourth and fifth picture A.consanguineum or A.ciliatum? What is the biggest difference that I should look for in them next summer?
Leena from south of Finland

Carolyn

Re: Arisaema
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2019, 08:05:01 PM »
Leena, I grow both of these too (at least that's what the labels say, but i am no expert!).  I also wonder what the distinguishing features of each are. The Pacific Bulb Society has some useful info on its website. Ciliatum can grow to 100cm and consanguineum to 200cm (mine don't, I think I must be too mean to them). The photos of ciliatum are useful, the 4th one shows the cilia which are apparently a distinguishing feature.
Carolyn McHale
Gardening in Kirkcudbright

Ben Candlin

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 09:18:04 PM »
Hi Leena, lovely photos of your plants.