We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Codonopsis  (Read 294 times)

Véronique Macrelle

Codonopsis
« on: June 21, 2024, 01:34:47 PM »
I want to collect the Codonopsis genus.
 I've been sowing what I can find for several years, with varying degrees of success, often using seeds from the srgc exchange.

Emergence is often easy, but then getting them to develop is sometimes difficult over the long term.
Maybe that's because I don't have enough information about how they live.
  This year I managed to get quite a few species
including this Codonopsis gracilis. It has beautiful foliage!
I only have one because most of the seeds were crushed in transit.

Does anyone have any information about it?
 It's already 20 cm high and wide, so could it flower this year?
« Last Edit: June 21, 2024, 01:49:46 PM by Véronique Macrelle »

Véronique Macrelle

Re: Codonopsis
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2024, 01:41:35 PM »
This is a 3-year-old Codonopsis kawakami, grown in pots outside or in the greenhouse, depending on the season.  I often have this problem of yellowing leaves, but I can't find the reason for it. Last year, it stopped its growth cycle after just 1 flower... this year I'm hoping to get a few seeds so I can grow several plants. Then I'll test it in the ground.

Many other species, climbing or not, easily get chlorosis... why? Too acid a soil?
« Last Edit: June 21, 2024, 01:48:57 PM by Véronique Macrelle »

Véronique Macrelle

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2024, 01:47:44 PM »
in order sur la photo :
 Codonopsis ovata, Codonospis cardiophylla and Codonopsis obtusa...
 they are similar, but with slight differences in the foliage. sown in March: can I expect them to flower this year?
C. obtusa is 1 specimen, and I'm always worried about getting to winter without seeds...

Véronique Macrelle

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2024, 08:50:06 PM »