We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Narcissus fly or something else?  (Read 2449 times)

Webster008

Narcissus fly or something else?
« on: January 02, 2013, 12:59:43 PM »
Did some careful digging around today and found out I have definitely lost Diggory,Lady Elphinstone,Ophelia and Spindlestone Surprise :-[. All I found were some empty husks. The bulbs had been completely hollowed out.

As I am relatively new to snowdrop growing I was wondering whether this was due to narcissus fly or something else.
Rick Webbink, Vroomshoop the Netherlands

bulborum

• Botanical bulbofiel
    • Facebook Forum
Re: Narcissus fly or something else?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 01:12:34 PM »
Sometimes here also tiny slugs do the job
but most of the time here it is the Narcissus fly larvae
but if you dig them up now they should be in the bulb
or they where there last year
and the basal plate isn't dead

Roland
Zone <8   -7°C _ -12°C  10 F to +20 F
RGB or RBGG means:
We collect mother plants or seeds ourself in the nature and multiply them later on the nursery

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/bulborum/

For other things see:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/Pumpkins.Tomatoes.Sweet.and.mild.Peppers

mark smyth

• Hopeless Galanthophile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 01:26:23 PM »
Rick photos would help. If the bulb still looked fresh on the outside but was full of brown goo I would say Narcissus fly. If you wash this you will find the grub.

I dont think there is carefull digging around bulbs. Removing soil on top of OK. You dont want to break roots because they will not grow again until next autumn
Antrim, Northern Ireland Z8
www.snowdropinfo.com / www.marksgardenplants.com / www.saveourswifts.co.uk

When the swifts arrive empty the green house

All photos taken with a Canon 900T and 230

Anthonyh

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 03:54:48 PM »